Council Honors Community Service Award Winners, Barbers

Norristown Municipal Council named the winners of the Paul Ginyard Memorial Community Service Award and also recognized several Norristown area barbers for the community service.

Community service was a noticeable theme at Tuesday night's Norristown Municipal Council meeting as council honored quite a number of people for their commitment to serving the residents of Norristown.

Council named the winners of the Paul Ginyard Memorial Community Service Award, named for the Town Watch organizer and longtime community activist who passed earlier this year. Norristown Police Officer Brian Saxon, Town Watch organizer Doris Starks, and Sue Soriano of the Norristown Community & Cops Coalition Building Team were awarded the honor for their commitment to serving the community of Norristown.

Council also approved a resolution recognizing 15 local barbers who donated their time and talents in September to organize a free "Back to School Haircut" day at the Greater Norristown PAL center. Boys entering grades 1 through 9 wer invited to come and get ready for a new school year with a free haircut, courtesy of the barbers.

Honored on Tuesday were barbers Likine Wallace, Antwon Cummings, Devery Johnson, J. Pierre Long, Robert W. Glover, John Johnson, Bobby Pearson, Aleen T. Darden, George Parker, III, George Parker, IV, Robert A. Ellen, Aleem J. Tyler, Aisha Ford-Bey, Bud Epps and Chykeat Goodley.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »