Montgomery County Radio Committee to Meet Wednesday

The committee is tasked with making upgrade recommendations to the county's aging emergency radio system.

According to a release issued by county, the first meeting of the Montgomery County ad hoc committee on upgrading the county emergency radio system will take place on Wednesday, Feb. 29 at 1:30 p.m. at the county’s Public Safety Training Campus at 1175 Conshohocken Road in Conshohocken. 

The first part of the meeting will be open to the public and press. The county commissioners will make remarks and take questions before the committee breaks into sub-groups and begins its work.

The county commissioners recently created the committee and designated . The committee is comprised of police, fire, EMS and municipal officials from throughout the county. Its task is to present the board of commissioners with the best options to move forward on modernizing the county’s emergency radio system.

Ad Hoc Committee on Public Safety Communications:

  • Michael Beaty, Chief, Whitemarsh Township Police Department
  • David Camarda, Fire Marshal, Whitpain Township
  • Bruce L. Castor, Jr., Montgomery County Commissioner, Committee Chair
  • John DiNolfi, Assistant Director Special Services, Montgomery County Public Safety
  • Patrick Doyle, Deputy Chief, Volunteer Medical Service Corps of Lower Merion
  • John Dwyer, Second Alarmers Rescue Squad
  • John Geib, Assistant Director for Operations, Montgomery County Public Safety
  • John Gross, Corporal, Springfield Police Department
  • William Kelly, Chief, Abington Township Police Department
  • Joseph Lawrence, Chief, Plymouth Township Police Department
  • Paul Leonard, Manager, Upper Dublin Township
  • Richard Lesniak, Director of Fire Services, Montgomery Township
  • Richard Lockhart, Battalion Chief, Norristown Fire Department – Station 27
  • Richard Lohwasser, Assistant Director of Technical Services, Montgomery County Public Safety
  • Hayden Marriott, Chief, Skippack Fire Company Station 86
  • Thomas Medwid, Chief, Lower Salford Police Department
  • Dennis Orangers, Asst. Director Fire Rescue Communications, Montgomery County Public Safety Department
  • Ken Schauder, Chief, Bryn Athyn EMS
  • John Scholly, Chief, Lower Gwynedd Township Police Department
  • Bob Stanley, Inter County Investigations, Inc. (Chief, Hatfield Township Police, retired)
  • Tom Sullivan, Director, Montgomery County Public Safety
  • Michael Vest, 9-1-1 Program Manager, Montgomery County Public Safety
  • Clinton Wakefield, Washington Fire Company
  • George Wilmont, Chief, Flourtown Fire Company Station 6


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »